ASWBMaster

Social work licensure in Louisiana

Requirements last verified August 19, 2026 against the Louisiana State Board of Social Work Examiners.

License levels

  • RSWRegistered Social Worker

    The board lists this level but does not state its ASWB exam on the pages we checked — confirm with them directly.

    A bachelor’s or master’s degree in social work from a CSWE-accredited program. The Board states no ASWB examination for this credential.

  • CSWCertified Social Worker

    The board lists this level but does not state its ASWB exam on the pages we checked — confirm with them directly.

    A master’s degree in social work from a CSWE-accredited program. Issued alongside approval to sit the Masters exam once the Board approves an LMSW application.

  • R-CSWRestricted Certified Social Worker

    The board lists this level but does not state its ASWB exam on the pages we checked — confirm with them directly.

    An extension a Certified Social Worker who has provided CPST services may petition for, held for a maximum of three years after the CSW expires and limited to providing those services.

  • LMSWLicensed Master’s Social Worker

    Requires the ASWB Masters exam.

  • LCSWLicensed Clinical Social Worker

    Requires the ASWB Clinical exam.

    On top of the 3,000 hours, the Board requires 96 hours of face-to-face supervision.

Worth knowing about Louisiana

Louisiana runs five credentials rather than the usual three, and two of them have no ASWB exam attached at all: the RSW, open to bachelor’s and master’s graduates alike, and the CSW. The exam-bearing pair are the LMSW, which takes the Masters exam, and the LCSW, which takes the Clinical exam on top of 3,000 hours of supervised practice and 96 hours of face-to-face supervision. One sequencing quirk is worth knowing before you apply: the Board issues a CSW as well as approval to sit the Masters exam once it approves an LMSW application, so the certificate arrives before the exam does. Two deadlines catch people out. An online application is valid for one year from the date the Board office receives it, and everything — including the criminal background check — has to be in seven days before the Board meeting at which it will be considered. And if you are coming in by endorsement or reinstatement rather than as a first-time applicant, there is a second exam: a 50-item open-book test on the Louisiana Social Work Practice Act and the Board’s rules, three hours, 70% to pass, retakeable immediately with no waiting period.

Common questions about Louisiana

Which ASWB exam do I need for Louisiana?
LMSW requires the ASWB Masters exam; LCSW requires the ASWB Clinical exam. Your board tells ASWB which category you are approved to take, so confirm with them before you register — registration fees are nonrefundable.
What social work licenses does Louisiana issue?
RSW (Registered Social Worker); CSW (Certified Social Worker); R-CSW (Restricted Certified Social Worker); LMSW (Licensed Master’s Social Worker); LCSW (Licensed Clinical Social Worker).
How many supervised hours does Louisiana require?
LCSW: 3,000 hours. The board sets the conditions on those hours — who may supervise, over what period — so read its own rules before you begin accruing them.
Is this information current?
These requirements were last checked against Louisiana State Board of Social Work Examiners on 2026-08-19. Licensure rules change without much notice, so treat the board as the authority and this page as a starting point.

Which exam will you sit?

Whatever Louisiana calls its license levels, the exam behind them is one of five.