ASWBMaster

Social work licensure in New Hampshire

Requirements last verified August 19, 2026 against the New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice.

License levels

  • Clinical Social Worker

    The board lists this level but does not state its ASWB exam on the pages we checked — confirm with them directly.

  • Social Worker

    The board lists this level but does not state its ASWB exam on the pages we checked — confirm with them directly.

  • Social Work Associate

    The board lists this level but does not state its ASWB exam on the pages we checked — confirm with them directly.

  • School Social Worker

    The board lists this level but does not state its ASWB exam on the pages we checked — confirm with them directly.

Worth knowing about New Hampshire

New Hampshire licenses social workers through its Board of Mental Health Practice rather than a dedicated social work board, alongside counselors, marriage and family therapists and pastoral psychotherapists. Two things follow from that. First, there is a jurisprudence examination on top of whatever ASWB exam you sit — the Board requires it of every applicant for initial licensure, candidates included — so budget for two exams, not one. Second, the route runs through a Candidate for Licensure registration: you file the universal application together with a supervision agreement, the candidate registration costs $50 and lasts two years before it has to be renewed, and the $325 application fee for the license itself already includes a mandatory $28 Professional Health Program charge. The Board publishes its license types in full — Clinical Social Worker, Social Worker, Social Work Associate, School Social Worker — but does not say on any page we could read which ASWB examination each one takes, so confirm your category with the Board before registering, because ASWB’s fees are not refundable.

Common questions about New Hampshire

Which ASWB exam do I need for New Hampshire?
New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice lists its license levels without naming which ASWB exam each requires, on the pages we were able to read. Confirm the exam category with the board directly before registering.
What social work licenses does New Hampshire issue?
Clinical Social Worker; Social Worker; Social Work Associate; School Social Worker.
Is this information current?
These requirements were last checked against New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice on 2026-08-19. Licensure rules change without much notice, so treat the board as the authority and this page as a starting point.

Which exam will you sit?

Whatever New Hampshire calls its license levels, the exam behind them is one of five.