Social work licensure in Oklahoma
Requirements last verified August 16, 2026 against the Oklahoma State Board of Licensed Social Workers.
License levels
LSWALicensed Social Work Associate
The board lists this level but does not state its ASWB exam on the pages we checked — confirm with them directly.
The bachelor’s-level license: a board-approved BSW and the examination. No supervised hours.
LMSWLicensed Masters Social Worker
The board lists this level but does not state its ASWB exam on the pages we checked — confirm with them directly.
A board-approved MSW and the examination. No supervised hours at this level.
LSWLicensed Social Worker
The board lists this level but does not state its ASWB exam on the pages we checked — confirm with them directly.
Not the entry-level license it is in most states — Oklahoma’s LSW needs an MSW plus 3,000 hours of supervised practice under an LCSW or an LSW-ADM, including at least 100 hours of face-to-face educational supervision.
LSW-ADMLicensed Social Worker with a specialty of administration
The board lists this level but does not state its ASWB exam on the pages we checked — confirm with them directly.
An MSW and 3,000 hours of supervised experience in administrative social work practice, supervised by an LSW-ADM, with at least 100 hours of educational supervision.
LCSWLicensed Clinical Social Worker
The board lists this level but does not state its ASWB exam on the pages we checked — confirm with them directly.
An MSW and 3,000 hours of supervised clinical experience under an LCSW — and the rule reads “which includes 3000 hours of direct client contact”, with administrative work, case management and travel expressly excluded from that count. At least 100 of the hours must be educational supervision.
Worth knowing about Oklahoma
Read Oklahoma’s license titles carefully: the entry-level bachelor’s credential here is the LSWA, and the LSW is a post-master’s license with 3,000 supervised hours behind it — the opposite of what those letters mean in most states. The exam route is distinctive too. The board approves you, issues a one-time provisional license, and only then may you apply through ASWB to sit. From the date of that provisional license you have one year to pass, retaking every 90 days; if you fail by ten points or fewer you may ask ASWB to waive the 90-day wait. If the provisional license is revoked, the whole application is voided and you start again with fees.
Common questions about Oklahoma
- Which ASWB exam do I need for Oklahoma?
- Oklahoma State Board of Licensed Social Workers lists its license levels without naming which ASWB exam each requires, on the pages we were able to read. Confirm the exam category with the board directly before registering.
- What social work licenses does Oklahoma issue?
- LSWA (Licensed Social Work Associate); LMSW (Licensed Masters Social Worker); LSW (Licensed Social Worker); LSW-ADM (Licensed Social Worker with a specialty of administration); LCSW (Licensed Clinical Social Worker).
- How many supervised hours does Oklahoma require?
- LSW: 3,000 hours; LSW-ADM: 3,000 hours; LCSW: 3,000 hours. The board sets the conditions on those hours — who may supervise, over what period — so read its own rules before you begin accruing them.
- Is this information current?
- These requirements were last checked against Oklahoma State Board of Licensed Social Workers on 2026-08-16. Licensure rules change without much notice, so treat the board as the authority and this page as a starting point.
Which exam will you sit?
Whatever Oklahoma calls its license levels, the exam behind them is one of five.