Social work licensure in South Dakota
Requirements last verified August 16, 2026 against the South Dakota Board of Social Work Examiners.
License levels
SWASocial Work Associate
The board lists this level but does not state its ASWB exam on the pages we checked — confirm with them directly.
For a baccalaureate in a non-social-work field, or an associate degree in the human services. It takes the same test as the Social Worker license, on a lower passing score.
SWSocial Worker
The board lists this level but does not state its ASWB exam on the pages we checked — confirm with them directly.
A CSWE-accredited baccalaureate in social work or social welfare.
CSWCertified Social Worker
The board lists this level but does not state its ASWB exam on the pages we checked — confirm with them directly.
A master’s or doctorate from a CSWE-accredited school of social work.
CSW-PIPCertified Social Worker in Private or Independent Practice
The board lists this level but does not state its ASWB exam on the pages we checked — confirm with them directly.
You must have held the CSW for at least two years and completed two years of supervised experience in your field of specialisation, with supervision of at least one hour a week — four hours a month — from a CSW-PIP, psychiatrist or psychologist. The board approves the application and the supervision paperwork before you are cleared to sit the clinical exam.
Worth knowing about South Dakota
South Dakota does something no other verified state does: it runs one test at two pass marks. In the board’s own words, “the social work associates and social workers take the same test, but the social work associates are allowed a lower passing score” — which makes the Social Work Associate a real route in for someone whose degree is not in social work. Higher up, the CSW-PIP is not something you can rush: two years holding the CSW and two years of weekly supervision come before the board will approve you to sit the clinical exam at all.
Common questions about South Dakota
- Which ASWB exam do I need for South Dakota?
- South Dakota Board of Social Work Examiners lists its license levels without naming which ASWB exam each requires, on the pages we were able to read. Confirm the exam category with the board directly before registering.
- What social work licenses does South Dakota issue?
- SWA (Social Work Associate); SW (Social Worker); CSW (Certified Social Worker); CSW-PIP (Certified Social Worker in Private or Independent Practice).
- Is this information current?
- These requirements were last checked against South Dakota Board of Social Work Examiners on 2026-08-16. Licensure rules change without much notice, so treat the board as the authority and this page as a starting point.
Which exam will you sit?
Whatever South Dakota calls its license levels, the exam behind them is one of five.